If you are bored with Instagram or are concerned about your privacy and the exposure of your personal data, it is easy to delete your profile from the photo-sharing platform owned by Facebook.
If you are still not very determined about this detachment, you can also leave your account inactive for as long as you like and reactivate it later. In both cases, the process is done by your internet browser.
How to delete your Instagram account permanently:
- Go to the Instagram account deletion page, enter your username and password.
- Justify the exclusion by answering the question “Why are you deleting your account?” with the alternatives on the side:
- Enter your password to confirm the request and click “Delete my account permanently” at the bottom of the page.
The process is not reversible. When you permanently delete your account, all of your photos, interactions with other users and followers are lost and cannot be recovered. Also, it is not possible to use the same username if you decide to make a new account after deletion.
How to temporarily disable your Instagram account:
- Using your internet browser, access Instagram.com.
- Enter your username and password and access your profile by clicking on your photo or the icon in the right corner.
- Then click on “Edit Profile” next to your username.
- Scroll down to find the option “Temporarily disable my account“.
Choose one of the reasons why you are deactivating your account, enter your password again to confirm the process, and click “Temporarily deactivate account“.
When you disable your account, your photos, videos, and likes are hidden. To reactivate your account, simply log in again via the Instagram app or website.